August 3rd, 2010

books

happy release day

Today is the official publication date for Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal!

Exactly what we could expect from Jane Austen if she had been a fantasy writer... An intimate portrait of a woman, Jane, and her quest for love in a world where the manipulation of glamour is considered essential for a lady of quality.

"Readers will be disappointed only when they finish this enchanting story, which is suffused with genteel charm. The author's judicious and effective changes to aspects of daily life clearly communicate how similar but different this world is from ours. With the grace of _Sense and Sensibility_, a touch of classic fairy tale magic, and an action-packed ending, this debut novel by an award-winning short story writer will appeal to fans of Jane Austen, Jane Yolen, Patricia Wrede, Susannah Clarke, and even Jasper Fforde." --Library Journal

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound | Powell’s


Bonus Links:

Mary discusses Shades of Milk and Honey on John Scalzi's Big Idea

Odd historical things Mary learned while writing the book (on Tor/Forge's blog).

Cory Doctorow talks about Shades of Milk and Honey on boingboing.net

Dan Wells: Shades of Milk and Honey, or, Why I’m going to murder Mary Robinette Kowal

Read the first chapter.






Win a copy! Post a comment on this entry about any of the bonus links, the first chapter, or the trailer above, and be entered to win; winner chosen at random at 12 Noon EST 8/6/2010. (One entry per person. U.S. Residents only. Note: ARC version.)


ETA: If you leave an anon comment and want to be entered, please add your name to the comment. Thanks.